Leyte 2 joins 121st DPWH anniversary

Thursday, June 27, 2019

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Leyte second district engineering office joined the nationwide celebration of the department’s 121st founding anniversary with the theme “DPWH Gabay Tungo sa Konkretong Pag-unlad.”

District offices in Eastern Visayas gathered at the regional office in Pawing Palo, Leyte to commemorate the event in festive mood on June 19-21, 2019.

According to Gerald Pacanan, DPWH Leyte 2 district engineer, this annual celebration is a time to look back to the highlights, achievements, and significant events of the department through the years of its existence.

“This is a celebration of all the accomplishment of the department. We also want to show our strong support to the goals and objectives of the government for the overall progress of the country,” said Pacanan.

The 3-day activity kicked off with an opening day parade followed by a thanksgiving mass to celebrate another significant milestone.

During the first day, the muse of each district competed in ramp modelling showcasing their catwalk skills and introduction. Also highlight of the day was the cheer dance competition wherein Leyte 2 dancers headed by the finance section chief, Loribelle Sonon, performed to the beat of throwback hits from the 80’s.

Ball games followed afterwards. Each district was grouped into 4 clusters. Biliran, Leyte 2 and 3 teamed up for the various ball games.

Players of each cluster participated in three major sports events; basketball, volleyball, and badminton, where cluster 2 ranked second in basketball and volleyball men, and third in volleyball women and badminton.

During the fellowship night held on the last day of the celebration, the district won first place in the DPWH Got Talent All-men bad contest. Representative of Leyte 2 performed the popular song Radio Ga Ga of the historic band Queen.

The event concluded with exhibition games and championship matches. Cluster 1 was declared overall winner in the sports events, while Cluster 3, 2, and 4 were second, third, and fourth placers respectively.

The department was created though the organic decree of the Philippine Revolutionary Government on June 23, 1898 which is the same year as the declaration of country’s independence.

The department is mandated for the planning, design, construction and maintenance of infrastructure, especially the national highways, flood control and water resources development system, and other public works in accordance with national development objectives.

It is composed six (6) bureaus, nine (9) services, seventeen (16) regional offices, five (5) Unified Project Management Offices (UPMO), and one hundred eighty-three (183) District Engineering Offices committed to accelerate the process of nation building through infrastructure projects that shall be its legacy to the country.