6 new school buildings to welcome Southern Leyte studes

Monday, June 3, 2019

At least six new school buildings will greet learners in Southern Leyte during the opening of new academic year on Monday built by the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH).

“We constructed unique workshop and high-rise school buildings. Each building are resilient to strong typhoons, earthquake, and other natural calamities to ensure safety of students and community,” said DPWH Southern Leyte construction chief Letecia Olarte.

The structural components of these school facilities such as footing, column, and beam were improved based on the upgraded design agreed by DPWH and the Department of Education (DepEd).

Of the six school buildings, three are in Libhu National High School in Maasin City and one
each in Villa Jacinta National Vocational High School in Macrohon town, Limasawa National High School in Limasawa town, and San Antonio Elementary School in Tomas Oppus town.

The construction of these new school buildings started in the fourth quarter of last year with a total allocation of P25 million. It was funded under DepEd’s Basic Education Facilities Fund (BEFF) in 2018.