29 Rain Water Collector System built in Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya schools

Thursday, February 1, 2018

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has installed a total of 29 Rain Water Collector Systems (RWCS) in various schools in the province of Quirino and Nueva Vizcaya.

District Engineer Marifel T. Andes of DPWH Quirino District Engineering Office shared that they have completed a total of 17 RWCS amounting to ₱3,400,000.00 that can benefit elementary and secondary schools in the municipalities of Diffun, Cabarroguis, Saguday, and Aglipay.

On the other hand, the DPWH Nueva Vizcaya Second District Engineering Office headed by District Engineer Ronald P. Reyes was able to build a total of 12 RWCS in various schools and even public markets in the municipalities of Kasibu, Aritao, and Sta. Fe.

“The RWCS is an innovative way to maximize use of rainwater for sanitation purposes in the recipient schools,” DE Reyes said.

The RWCS collects rainwater through pipes connected from the roofing of the school buildings. Accumulated rainwater is distributed to toilets, washrooms and other facilities that need water through the pipes or faucets attached to the water-collecting structure.