Additional Roads Closed due to Maring, Nando

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

More road closures were recorded at 1:00 pm Tuesday, October 12, 2021 due to Tropical Storm ‘Maring’ and Tropical Depression ‘Nando’.

In a latest advisory, the Department of Public Works and Highways Bureau of Maintenance (DPWH-BOM) reported that 24 national road sections are now closed to traffic which includes 17 in Cordillera Administrative Region, three (3) in Region I, three (3) in Region II and one (1) in Region VII due to fallen trees, landslide, flooding, continuous mudslides and damaged bridge.

In CAR, the 17 closed roads are: Kennon Road, K0216+(-650) Camp 1, Tuba, Benguet; sections of Baguio- Bontoc Road in Caliking, Half Tunnel Paoay, and Cattubo, Atok, Benguet; Asin- Nangalisan - San Pascual - La Union Boundary Road in Lasong, Tadiangan, and First Tunnel, Sipitan, Tadiangan, Tuba, Benguet; Benguet-Nueva Vizcaya Road K0269+400, Benguet; Abra - Kalinga Road, K0459+950, Cawayan, Baay-Licuan, Abra; Abra - Kalinga Road, K0459+950, Cawayan, Baay-Licuan, Abra at K0616+160, Madduang, Kabugao, and K0617+440, Madduang, Kabugao, Apayao; Kabugao - Pudtol - Luna - Cagayan - Boundary Road, K0609+200, Bulu, Kabugao, Apayao; Claveria-Calanasan-Kabugao Road, K0683+320-K0683+345, Gattaban Section, Naguillian, Calanasan, Apayao; and Apayao-Ilocos Norte Rd,
K0657+400-K0657+450, Butao, Calanasan, Apayao.

Also closed in CAR mostly due to landslide and soil collapse are: Pico - Lamtang Road, K0260+000, Lamtang in La Trinidad, Benguet; Cong. Andres Acop Cosalan Road, K0307+150, Sitio Gueng, Daclan, Bokod, Benguet; Baguio - Bua - Itogon Road, at K0260+850, Sitio First Gate, Ucab and K0262+600 at Sitio Goldfield, Poblacion, both in Itogon, Benguet; City Limit - Sto. Tomas Road, K0256+800 - K0259+900 (Various Sections), Poblacion, Tuba, Benguet; Gov. Bado Dangwa National Road, K0308+500, Poblacion and K0322+950, Palina both in Kibungan, Benguet; Cong. Andres Acop Cosalan Road K0343+500, Amlimay Buguias and K0365+400, Abatan, Buguias, Benguet; Abatan-Mankayan-Cervates Road, K0346+800, Guinaoang, Mankayan, Benguet; and Banaue - Mayoyao - Alfonso Lista - Isabela Boundary Road, K0384+550 in Chuyung, Mayoyao, Ifugao.

The affected roads in Region 1 include: Manila North Road, Bayugao Bridge, Sta Cruz, Ilocos Sur; San Juan - San Gabriel Road, K0280+000 - K0282+000 and Luna - Bangar Road, K0305+000 - K0307+000 in La Union.

In Region 2, impassable roads are the following: Baybayog-Baggao-Dalun-Sta. Margarita Road, Abusag Overflow Bridge, K0543+382; Namayacan Bridge approach "B".K 585 +122 along Dugo San Vicente; and Cagayan Apayao Road, Itawes Bridge, K519+(-1044), Tuao , Cagayan while the Cebu-Toledo Wharf Road, K0023+700, Brgy. Manipis, Talisay City, Cebu in Region 7 also remains closed to all types of vehicles.

Roads that are only accessible to heavy vehicles include: Manila North Road, K0333+000, Sta. Cruz-Sta. Lucia Bdry, K0347+000, Candon, and K0369+800, Brgy. Baliw Daya, Sta Maria in Ilocos Sur; and Manila North Road, K0287+800 in La Union due to flooding.

The Batangas-Tabangao-Lobo Road, Sta.138+150 to 145+400 in Batangas remains passable to only light vehicles due to damaged seawall and road slip, damaged by previous typhoons.