DPWH installs rain water collection facility in Isabela schools

Monday, November 5, 2018

In its effort to encourage water conservation and reuse, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has installed 16 Rain Water Collection System (RWCS) at different public schools in Isabela Province.

According to DPWH Isabela Third District Engineer Editha Barbaran, a total of P2.994 million was allotted for the installation of the rainwater collection units distributed to various elementary and secondary high schools in the municipality of San Mateo, Alicia, Angadanan, and Cauayan City.

Twelve (12) schools in Cauayan City received one RCW each, namely: Buyon Elementary School, Cauayan South Central School, Casalatan Elementary School, Cassap Fuera Elementary School, Dianao Elementary School, Linglingay Elementary School, San Isidro Elementary School, San Antonio Elementary School, San Pablo Elementary School, San Antonio High School, Sinippil Elementary School, and Villa Concepcion High School (Annex - Rogus).

One RWCS was also installed in La Suerte Elementary School and Victory Elementary School in the Municipality of Angadanan; Salinungan National High School in the Municipality of San Mateo; Dagupan Elementary School in the Municipality of Alicia; and at the DPWH – ITDEO Office, respectively.

Engr. Babaran said that by connecting the roof gutter system of the school buildings to the RWCS through pipes, the schools can collect water that can be used for facilities that need water supply like toilets, washrooms, and garden hose.

It can be recalled that in 2016, the Province of Isabela was declared under state of calamity due prolonged dry spell. Collecting rainwater through the rain water collection facilities will not only educate students the value of water conservation but also sanitary water management.