DPWH Promotes Active Transport in ‘New Normal’ by Constructing Dedicated Road Bike Lane

Wednesday, July 28, 2021

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has installed reflectorized thermoplastic pavement markings, road signages, and bike lane separators along key roads in Metro Manila, Metro Cebu and Metro Davao to ease accessibility for cyclists.

Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark A. Villar said that more than ‘new normal’ mode of transport, the use of bicycle instill health consciousness and protect the environment.

A dedicated lanes on roads with wide space was constructed with the use of either concrete delineators, rubber bollards, steel fence and solar studs to encourage bicycle usage in going to workplace.

This bike lane network improve safety and promote fair division of road space and active transportation, added Secretary Villar.

Together with the Department of Transportation (DoTr), the idea for the Metropolitan Bike Lanes Network connecting cities, municipalities as well as provinces was conceived to provide a safe and accessible space for cyclists.

A 313-kilometer Metropolitan Area Bike Lane Network that covers 67 roads in Metro Manila was completed recently funded by the Bayanihan to Recover as One Act of 2020 or the Republic Act No. 11494.

Cities in Metro Manila included in the Bike Lane Networks are Quezon City, Marikina, Caloocan, Valenzuela, Parañaque, Makati, Pasay, Manila, San Juan, Pasig, Taguig, and Mandaluyong.

The dedicated bike lanes that will benefit about 1,280 bikers per hour per meter are in present in the following roads: Circumferential Road 4 (EDSA) from Roxas Boulevard to Monumento with a total length of 45.95 kms; Radial Road 1 with 13 roads from R-1 to (Roxas Blvd.) to R-7 (Commonwealth Ave.), 68.40 kms; Radial Road 3 with 3 roads from Quirino Ave. (C-2) to EDSA (C-4) to Lawton Ave. to C.P. Garcia Ave. (C-5) to General Santos Avenue to SLEX, 22.10 kms; Radial Road 4 with 3 roads from Pedro Gil St. to Tejeron St. J.P. Rizal Ave. to EDSA to C-5, 16.88 kms; Radial Road 5 with 13 roads from V. Mapa St. to Ortigas Ave. Ext. (C. Raymundo), 38.47 kms; Radial Road 6 with 16 roads from Legarda to Marcos Highway, 27.73 kms; Radial Road 8 with 7 roads from Quezon Boulevard to Blumentritt, 7.71 kms; Circumferential Road 5 NLEX Karuhatan to C-5 Road Extension, 52.13 kms; and Bike Share on 10 other roads, 33.75 kms.

A 29-kilometer Metro Cebu Bike Lanes and 54.7-kilometer Metro Davao Bike Lanes was also launched recently in Central Visayas and Southern Mindanao that will be able to improve safety and promote fair division of road space and active transportation.

Secretary Villar assured that the DPWH will continue to collaborate with the DoTr to provide the necessary infrastructure that will address transportation woes, keeping in consideration the safety of all road users.

Safe and inclusive bike spaces are now incorporated on DPWH road projects.

A first protected bike lane along national highway was built by the DPWH along Laguna Lake Highway formerly known as the C6 Dike Road, an alternate route to EDSA and C5 connecting Lower Bicutan in Taguig City to Taytay, Rizal. The Laguna Lake Highway Bike Lane is protected and separated by a 2-meter plant strip from the motor vehicle lanes.