DPWH Undertakes Widening of 31 Bridges in Region 8

Monday, July 19, 2021

The Department pf Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Regional Office 8 aims to complete the widening of at least 31 national bridges to improve mobility all over Eastern Visayas.

Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark A. Villar said that a total of P1.1 Billion from the 2021 General Appropriations Act (GAA) was allocated to implement widening of 17 bridges in Leyte province, seven (7) in Southern Leyte, three (3) in Samar province, two (2) in Northern Samar, and two (2) in Biliran—all targeted to be finished within this year.

According to Secretary Villar, the bridges are being widened to complement the nationwide road expansion projects under Calendar Year (CY) 2021 in Region 8.

“Other than constructing additional lanes, retrofitting activities are also performed on bridges in accordance with the latest Department design standards, guidelines, criteria, and specifications. Through this undertaking, our structures will be more resilient in the event of strong earthquakes,” said Secretary Villar.

The 31 bridges for widening include the Abo-abo Bridge along Lemon-Leyte-Biliran Road; Canomantag Bridge along Bagahupi-Babatngon-Sta Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road; Bagahupi Bridge along Leyte-Samar Inter-Provincial Road; Sabang Bridge along Villaba-Palompon Road; Bogasong Bridge along Daang Maharlika, Libagon, Southern Leyte; Himanglos Bridge along Bagahupi-Babatngon-Sta Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road; Pangasugan Bridge along Ormoc-Baybay-Southern Leyte Boundary Road; Cagnonoc Bridge along Ormoc-Baybay-Southern Leyte Boundary Road; Busali Bridge and Moog Bridge along Biliran Circumferential Road; Apale Bridge, Calunangan Bridge, Guinobatan Bridge, and Libas Bridge along Palompon-Isabel-Merida-Ormoc Road; Tabog Bridge, Bagalongon Bridge, Lourdes Bridge, Cawayan Bridges 1 and 2, Dakit Bridge, Mayuga Bridge, San Joaquin Bridge, Canaya Bridge, Bito Bridge, Tuburan Bridge, Peña Bridge, Manok-Manok Bridge, Caglanipao Bridge, Bayog Bridge, Caaguit-itan Bridge, and Ibarra Bridge along Daang Maharlika.

DPWH Region 8 has received an allocation of P35.59 Billion from the 2021 GAA and is tasked to maintain over 900 bridges in Eastern Visayas along with 2,560 kilometers of national road.