DPWH: Quinta renders 21 road sections impassable

Monday, October 26, 2020

As of 12 noon, October 26, 2020 (Monday), a total of 21 national road sections are currently impassable due to road cut, landslide, mudflow, collapsed bridge, sunken pavement, fallen trees and electrical post and flooding due to heavy rains brought by Tropical Storm “Quinta”.

Citing a report from Department of Public Works and Highways - Bureau of Maintenance (DPWH-BOM), DPWH Secretary Mark A. Villar said that of the 21 road sections, seven (7) roads are closed in Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR); five (5) in Region 2, two (2) in Region III, one (1) in Region 4-A, one (1) in Region 4-B, four (4) in Region 5, and one (1) in Region 10.

“Our disaster-response teams with equipment are deployed to conduct immediate clearing operations and install warning signs along affected road sections once roads are safe for our crew,” said Secretary Villar.

Impassable roads in CAR include: Kennon Road; Tawang - Ambiong Road K0263+900 - K0263+930 section in Sitio Lower Riverside, Brgy. Ambiong, La Trinidad, Benguet; Apayao – Ilocos Norte Road K0613+500 – K0613+580 section in Madduang,Kabugao, Apayao; Claveria-Calanasan-Kabugao Road K0643+050-K0643+110 Maragmin Section, Calanasan, Apayao; Jct. Talubin-Barlig-Natonin-Paracelis Road, K0380+500 in Talubin and Mt. Province - Nueva Vizcaya Road, K0363+500 - K0363+535 in Bayyo, both in Bontoc, Mountain Province; and Tabuk - Banaue Road, K0522+100, Dupligan, Tanudan, Kalinga.

In Region 2, affected sections are: Cabagan-Sta. Maria Overflow Bridge, Cabagan, Sta. Maria in Isabela; Abusag Overflow Bridge K0543+382 along Baybayog-San Jose-Baggao-Abusag-Dalin-Sta. Margarita Road in Cagayan; intermittent sections of Cadcadir- Kabugao Road; Jct. Logac Lasam Gagabutan Road (JLLGR) Rizal Section, k0760+700-k0761+500 in Cagayan; and Manila North Road (MNR) K0590+150, Brgy. San Juan, Sta. Praxedes, Cagayan.

The Nueva Ecija- Aurora Road K0174+300, Brgy. Vilia. Maria Aurora, Aurora, and Baliwag-Candaba -Sta. Ana Road, K0068+850 – K0069+250, San Agustin, Candaba, Pampanga were identified as impassable in Region 3.

In CALABARZON, closed are intermittent sections of Tagaytay Taal Lake Road in Brgy. San Jose, Tagaytay City, Cavite while in MIMAROPA, DPWH-BOM reported the closure of Calapan North Road, K0029+400 to K0030+200, Oriental Mindoro.

In Region 5 where the first landfall of Tropical Storm “Quinta” was recorded, the typhoon rendered the following road sections impassable: Naga-Carolina-Panicuason Road (K0442+600); Tigaon-Goa-San Jose-Lagonoy-Guijalo via San Vicente Road (Tigaon-Lagonoy Section) Brgy. San Antonio, Tigaon, and Baao-Iriga City-Nabua Road (K0472+100 -(K0474+200) in Camarines Sur; and the Daang Maharlika (Tuaca Basud Section) K0365+200 in Camarines Norte.

Lastly, the Misamis Oriental -Bukidnon - Agusan Road, Siloo Bridge, Brgy. San Luis, Malitbog, Bukidnon is also impassable due to landslide and collapsed steel truss bridge.