VILLAR: DPWH opens first national expressway with bicycle lanes in Taguig City

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Public Works and Highways Secretary Mark Villar led the ceremonial drive-through of the newly-completed and modernized 6.94-kilometer Laguna Lake Highway (formerly C-6) in Barangay Lower Bicutan, Taguig City.

DPWH Secretary Villar said the 4-lane divided highway which connects the eastern part of Metro Manila and the towns of Rizal Province has been opened to provide alternative route to motorists in time for Christmas rush.

“We are happy to announce that this toll-free road will be able to cut travel time from Bicutan to Taytay and vice versa from an hour to just 30 minutes or less,” said Secretary Villar.

"This is the first national expressway with bicycle lanes. The improved highway will ensure safety of motorists, bikers, pedestrians, as well as protection of residents from backflow of lakewater," Villar said.

Secretary Villar noted that the newly-opened road will serve as an alternative route of motorists to avoid traffic along Epifanio delos Santos Avenue (EDSA) and Circumferential Road 5 (C-5).

Moreover, with its 2-meter wide planting strips, 3-meter-wide protected bike lane, 1.5-meter wide sidewalk, complete with street lights and safety signages components, Laguna Lake Highway will provide a faster, safer and more pleasant travel experience not just to motorists but also to bikers and pedestrians.

The construction of Laguna Lake Highway in the total amount of P1.28 Billion was implemented by DPWH National Capital Region under the supervision of Regional Director B. Melvin Navarro.

Also present in the opening of Laguna Lake Highway is Build, Build, Build Cabinet Secretary Benjamin Diokno of the Department of Budget and Management and Bases Conversion and Development Authority President Vivencio Dizon; as well as Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Secretary Danilo Lim, DPWH Assistant Secretary Antonio V. Molano Jr., Taguig City Mayor Lani Cayetano, former Taguig City 2nd District Rep. Lino Cayetano, and other officials of Taguig City Local Government Unit.