DPWH to Build P1.73-B Water Supply Projects in 30 Tourism Areas

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Aiming to further boost the tourism industry in the country, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) will commence this year the implementation of Tourism Water Supply Infrastructure Program (TWSIP) which will provide potable water supply to some thirty (30) waterless tourism spots across the country.

Following the release by the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) of P1.73 Billion for the TWSIP, the DPWH is now set to begin with the water source development and corresponding detailed engineering design of projects that were identified in coordination with the Department of Tourism(DOT), Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), and the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC).

Areas that were identified as recipients of the project are considered in-need locations or those that have remain waterless for years, but have potential for growth particularly in the tourism industry.

“Tourism spots need to have safe and sustainable water supply to further enhance its tourism potential. This will be addressed once our water supply projects are completed,” said DPWH Secretary Rogelio L. Singson.

“Our target is to start the implementation of TWSIP as soon as possible,” Singson also said.

The DPWH chief said among the 30 municipalities that will be covered by the project are: Currimao and San Nicolas in Ilocos Norte (Region 1); Baguio City in Benguet (Cordillera Administrative Region); Roxas and El Nido in Palawan (Region 4B); Aroroy in Masbate (Region 5); Murcia and San Carlos City in Negros Occidental, Balete and Libacao in Aklan; Jamindan and Pres. Roxas in Capiz and Passi in Iloilo (Region 6).

Also included are eight (8) municipalities in Central Visayas, with five (5) in Cebu namely: Aloguinsan, Toledo City, San Fernando, Sibonga and Cordoba and three (3) in Bohol namely: Jetafe, Talibon, and Trinidad.

Adding to the beneficiaries are two (2) areas in Western Mindanao namely Dapitan City in Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga City in Zamboanga del Sur; one (1) in Region 10 namely Barangay Carmen, Cagayan de Oro in Misamis Oriental; with six (6) in Region 11 namely: Nabunturan and Montevista in Compostela Valley and Asuncio, Braulio E Dujali, Carmen and New Corella in Davao del Norte.

The Tourism Water Supply Infrastructure Program is a joint project of the DPWH, DOT, LWUA, NAPC, with support from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), seeking to facilitate tourism and economic growth in identified priority development areas in the Philippines.