DPWH Starts Construction of First Evacuation Complex in Cagayan Valley

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Construction works for the first evacuation complex in Cagayan Valley began with a ceremonial groundbreaking held on July 12, 2017.

Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Regional Office 2 Director Melanio C. Briosos led the groundbreaking ceremony of the evacuation complex located at Brgy. San Gabriel, Tuguegarao City, along with Cagayan Governor Manuel N. Mamba, Cagayan Provincial Office officials, representatives from Department of Social Welfare and Development and Office of the Civil Defense.

The evacuation complex will consist of eight (8) separate buildings with the two-storey main building measuring an area of 838 square meters and can accomodate 128 beds, a dining area, food preparation and dishwasing area, communication room, prayer room, breastfeeding area and a storage room.

Other structures include a comfort room facility; a three-storey laundry area with water tank; a two-storey operations office and infirmary building; a generator room with a 200 KVA generator set; a water pump room; and a 33-square-meter garbage disposal building.

According to Regional Director Melanio C. Briosos, the ₱34.19-million project will provide emergency service and public assistance before, during or immediately after disaster and times of calamities not only to reduce the number of casualties but also to prevent health problems and meet basic needs of displaced persons during disasters.

“DPWH is committed in fulfilling its mandate as one of the agencies involved in disaster preparedness, response and relief operations. We are taking the lead in the designing and building resilient and formidable evacuation centers,” RD Briosos added.

The project is the first among the seven funded regional evacuation complexes to be constructed for Region 02 with the three set to be built in Cagayan Province located in Lallo, Gonzaga, and Tuao; one in Bayombong, Nueva Vizvaya; and another two in Isabela Province.

The construction of these centers is in response to climate change adaptation and mitigation program of President Rodrigo R. Duterte and is approved by the member agencies of the National Disaster and Risk Reduction Management Council (NDRRMC). It is also is relative to Republic Act 10121 otherwise known as the Philippine Disaster Act of 2010.