DPWH-6 Lays Out Programs for Safer Roads

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Gov. Arthur D. Defensor Sr. recently called for the 1st Road Safety Summit at the Casa Real de Iloilo, Iloilo Provincial Capitol to reduce the incidence of road accidents by identifying its major causes and to canvass recommendations from the stakeholders to reduce accidents.

Several government agencies such as the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Land Transportation Office (LTO), Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), the Philippine National Police (PNP) Highway Patrol Group, Iloilo Provincial Police Office, Civil Society Organizations and Local Government Units (LGU) took part in the said summit.

Engr. Ray Adrian C. Macalalag, Engineer II of the Planning and Design Division of DPWH Region 6 discussed the DPWH Programs on Road Safety. The discussion started off with the 5- step strategy on roadside management such as 1) KEEP vehicles on the road, 2) REMOVE road hazards, 3) RELOCATE hazards, lampposts, electric poles, 4) MODIFY hazards like trees and 5) SHIELD landmarks.

The young engineer also highlighted the implementation of the Road and Bridge Information Application (RBIA) throughout the Department to ensure that the priority road projects are based on the conditions of the road and traffic volume. Also, every Regional Office was ordered to create a Roadworks Safety Assessment Team to conduct periodic assessment of ongoing projects.

In addition, modern applications for road safety implemented by DPWH were also pointed out by Engr. Macalalag namely, reflectorized pavement markings, provision of bike lanes, loading and unloading bays in dense areas, and roadworks safety as provisioned in Department Order 99 series of 2016.

Issues and Concerns on Road Safety were discussed by Engr. Perfecto Yap, President of the Association of Taxi Operators in Panay. An open forum followed, moderated by Mario N. Nillos and the issues concerning DPWH were duly noted.

The summit ended with a Road Safety Commitment signing. Iloilo 2nd District Engineering Office (DEO) District Engr. Nilo B. Gavia, Iloilo 1st DEO Assistant District Engr. Mario D. Villena, Illoilo 4th DEO Assistant District Engr. Arnel A. Rebeta and Engr. Ray Adrian C. Macalalag signed the commitment.