

## REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES **DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND HIGHWAYS** OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY MANILA

24 January 1992

DEPARTMENT ORDER)

SUBJECT: CREATION OF A TECHNICAL WORKING GROUP (TWG) FOR THE PREFEASIBILITY/ FEASIBILITY STUDY OF THE MANILA BAY TIDAL CONTROL STRUCTURE PROJECT

A tidal control structure across the entrance of Manila Bay from Cavite to Bataan, via Corregidor, has been identified as a potentially viable facility that would control the water level of the bay in order to effect significantly better drainage and flood control for the adjoining land areas in Metro Manila, Central Luzon and neighboring localities, aside from providing a huge supply of water for drinking and industrial uses, irrigation, and fish culture, ensuring navigation through the facility, as well as road transport on top of the structure, generating reclaimed lands for agricultural, commercial, industrial, and residential uses, and providing other related functions.

In this regard, the President created an Inter-Agency Committee for the Manila Bay Tidal Control Structure Project composed of the Secretary of Public Works and Highways as Chairman, and the Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources, the Secretary of Interior and Local Government, the Secretary of Agriculture and the Secretary of Transportation and Communications as Members.

The main tasks of the Committee are the following:

- Conduct a prefeasibility/feasibility study of the proposed project, covering the various aspects mentioned above, including the necessary surveys, investigations, land engineering activities, to establish and confirm the technical, economic, social, environmental, financial, and operational viability of the project.
- Coordinate and consult with all concerned agencies and groups, both government and private, in the conduct of such prefeasibility/feasibility study.
- Based on the results of the said study, recommend or take the necessary follow-up steps to pursue the project implementation, including detailed design and construction, thru build-operate-transfer schemes and/ or other appropriate arrangements.

To assist the Committee in the conduct of a prefeasibility/feasibility study, a Technical Working Group (TWG) is hereby created composed of representatives from the DPWH and participating agencies, as follows:

	Name	Agency	Position	Designation
1.	Antonio A. Alpasan	DPWH	Project Director	Chairman
2.	Bienvenido Leuterio	DPWH	Director	Vice-Chairman
3.	Eduardo del Fiero	MWSS	Asst. Adminis- trator for Eng'g.	Member
4.	Renato Tier	NAMRIA, DENR	Director	-do-
5.	Isidro Digal	NIA	Head, Project Development Dept.	-do-
6.	George Esguera	DOTC	Director, Program Management Office	-do-
7.	Bert Catalan	PPA, DOTC	Manager, Project Development Dept.	-do-
8.	Angel Bravo	BMG, DENR	Chief Marine Geologist	-do-
9.	Esterlito Pinlac	EMB, DENR	Chief, Water Quality Section	-do-
10.	Nestor Ticson	BSWM, DA	Regional Coordinator for Soils and Water Access Team	
11.	Simeona Aypa	BFAR, DENR	Chief, Agriculture Division	-do-
12.	Reuben Ganaden	BFAR, DENR	Legal Officer IV	-do-

The TWG shall function under the direct control and supervision of the Inter-Agency Committee. It shall prepare and submit programs of work and schedule of activities including initial cost estimates for the conduct of surveys and investigations, and other related expenses for the study for consideration of the Committee.

JOSE P. DE JESUS Secretary