PPWH 097.12 03-27-2009



Republic of the Philippines DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND HIGHWAYS OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY Manila MAR 2 5 2009

SPECIAL ORDER No. 45 Series of 2009 MKEE 03-27-02 CREATION OF A STEERING COMMITTEE AND TECHNICAL WORKING GROUP FOR THE PREPARATORY STUDY FOR SECTOR LOAN ON DISASTER RISK MANAGEMENT IN THE PHILIPPINES

To ensure effectiveness and coordinated implementation of the Preparatory Study for the Sector Loan on Disaster Risk Management in the Philippines, with technical assistance from the Government of Japan (GOJ), through the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA), a Steering Committee for the said Study is hereby created with the following composition:

1. MARIA CATALINA E. CABRAL, PhD	-	Chairperson
Assistant Secretary for Planning, DPWH		
2. RESITO V. DAVID, MNSA	-	Vice-Chairperson
Project Director, PMO-FCSEC, DPWH		
3. MELVIN B. NAVARRO, MNSA	-	Member
Director III, OIC-Planning Service, DPWH		
4. PATRICK B. GATAN, CESO III	-	Member
Project Director, PMO-MFCP I, DPWH		
5. PHILIP MENEZ, CESO III	-	Member
Project Director, PMO-MFCP II, DPWH		
6. CRISTE NAVIDA, PhD.	-	Member
Project Manger IV, ESSO, DPWH		
7. LUIS MAMITAG	-	Member
Director, BOM, DPWH		
8. NEDA Representative	-	Member
9. OCD Representative	-	Member
10. DENR- MGB Representative	-	Member
11. PAGASA Representative	-	Member

The In-house JICA River Management Expert in the Planning Service and the JICA Chief Advisor in PMO-FCSEC shall be Honorary Members of the Committee.

The main functions of the Steering Committee are as follows:

- a. To monitor the progress of the study;
- b. Provide guidance, resources and support to the Study Team; and
- c. Ensure the success and desired outcome of the Study.

The Steering Committee shall hold meetings during the presentation of Status Reports and as may be requested by the Study Team. They will also review and monitor the Conduct of Master Plan and Feasibility Study of the twelve (12) river basins to be conducted by the Local Consultants. A Technical Working Group (TWG) is hereby correspondingly created to be composed of the following:

1.	REBECCA T. GARSUTA, MNSA	-	Chairperson
	Engineer V, DPD-Planning Service		
2.	DOLORES M. HIPOLITO	-	Co-Chairperson
	Project Manager II, PMO-FCSEC		
3.	ALEJANDRO A. SOSA	-	Member
	Project Manager II, PMO-MFCP II		
4.	LEONILA MERCADO	-	Member
	Engineer IV, PMO-MFCP I		
5.	ERLINDA ABAŇO	-	Member
	Project Manager I, ESSO		
6.	VISNA MANIO	-	Member
	Engineer IV, BOM		
7.	NEDA Representative	-	Member
8.	OCD Representative	-	Member
9.	DENR- MGB Representative	-	Member
10.	PAGASA Representative	-	Member

The TWG shall assist the Steering Committee in its functions. It shall hold regular monthly (or as the need arises) coordination meetings with the JICA Study Team to discuss/monitor the progress of the Study.

This Order shall take effect immediately.

69 MANE, JR. HERMOGENES Secre

