10.19.99



REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND HIGHWAYS OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY MANILA



18 October 1999

DEPARTMENT ORDER)
NO. 202
Series of 1999

SUBJECT: Creation of Steering and Technical Committees

and Secretariat to Revise/Update the Design Guidelines, Criteria and Standards for Public Works and Highways (Volumes I, II, III and IV)

It has been observed that some important areas in our Design Guidelines, Criteria and Standards for Public Works and Highways (Volumes I,II,III and IV) need to be revised/updated to suit actual field conditions and to cope with technology advances.

In order to ensure expeditious revision/updating of the said Design Guidelines, a Steering Committee is hereby created with composition as follows:

Undersecretary TEODORO T. ENCARNACION	-	Chairman
Director BIENVENIDO C. LEUTERIO	-	Member
Director RAUL C. ASIS	-	Member
Director CLARITA C. BANDONILLO	-	Member
Director LUISITO S. VISORDE	_	Member
Asst Director NESTOR V AGUSTIN		Member

A Technical Committee and Secretariat are also hereby created to assist the above Steering Committee, with composition as follows:

NAME	OFFICE	DESIGNATION
Gilberto S. Reyes	BOD	Chairman
Luis A. Mamitag, Jr.	BRS	Co- Chairman

Survey & Investigation

Eustacio Y. Cano	BOD	Member
Ramon D. Torres	BRS	Member
Lino Reynera	BRS	Member
Jess Albano	Region IV-A	Member
Lantin Romulo	Region IV-B	Member
Joel Magtagnob	NCR	Member

Hydraulic Design

Sofia T. Santiago	BOD	Member
Perfecto L. Zaplan	BOD	Member
Victor M. Gonzales	BRS	Member
Isabelo A. Abellon	BRS	Member
Prudenciana A. Ocampo	PMO-FC	Member

Highway Design

Josefina M. Alagar	BOD	Member
Roger F. David	BOD	Member
Richard Francisco	BOM	Member
Rodel Julaila	BOC	Member
Anatalio Atienza	BRS	Member
Iluminada Magtibay	Region IV-A	Member

Bridge Design

Walter Ocampo	BOC	Member
Adriano M. Doroy	BOD	Member
Virginia L. Damaso	BOD	Member
Cesar E. Onate	BRS	Member
Carlito Nacional	BOC	Member
Necitas Casalan	Region IV-A	Member

Site Planning and Architectural Design

Emmanuel A. Cuntapay	BOD	Member
Mariano C. Del Castillo	BOD	Member
Lilibeth A. Minguillan	BRS	Member
Serafin Cruz	Region IV-A	Member
Celeste Villafuerte	Region IV-B	Member

Ports and Harbors Design

Edmundo G. Atanacio	BOD	Member
Apolinario M. Macanas	BOD	Member
Rosalinda Pare	BOC	Member
Evelnie Jalicha	Region IV-B	Member

Building Design

Wilfredo S. Lopez	BOD	Member
Edgardo Garces	BOC	Member
Lilibeth A. Minguillan	BRS	Member
Cesar E. Onate	BRS	Member
Grande Montalbo	Region IV-A	Member
Bayani Centeno	NCR	Member

Electrical and Mechanical Design

Fe M. Barrientos	BOD	Member
Eriberto S. Sioson	BOD	Member
Valeriano O. Esquival	BOD	Member
Mario E. Palileo	BRS	Member
Ricardo Esqueta	BRS	Member

Tender Documents

Antonio V. Molano, Jr.	PBAC-TWG	Member
Francisco R. Ridao	BOD	Member
Jesus I. Oba	BOD	Member
Danilo A. Agustin	BRS	Member
Reynaldo V. Rosario	NCR	Member

Secretariat

Dante B. Potante	BOD	Leader
Iluminada V. De Guzman	BRS	Member
Arleen Rose A. Manipon	BOD	Member
Melrose Pailma	BOC	Member
Ma. Dolores T. Ortiz	BOM	Member

The Steering Committee shall provide overall guidance and supervision on the conduct of the said revision/updating, and shall evaluate and submit the recommendations of the Technical Committee, for approval of the Secretary.

The Technical Committee shall have the following responsibilities:

- a. Identify the areas of the existing design guidelines, criteria and standards that need to be revised/updated.
- b. Identify and evaluate current accepted design innovations and technologies that may possibly be adopted in the implementation of infrastructure projects.
- c. Set the minimum and acceptable limits as basis for ideal, efficient and economical design for all infrastructure projects.
- d. Recommend revised/new guidelines, criteria and standards to the Steering Committee for approval of the Secretary.

The Secretariat will serve as the coordinating and monitoring unit of the Technical Committee.

The Chairman is authorized to seek technical assistance and services that are deemed necessary for these Committees to carry out their tasks effectively.

This Order shall take effect immediately.

GREGORIO R. VIGILAR

Secretary