NO. 58
Series of 1975

SUBJECT: Restructuring Regions IX, X and XI and organizing Region XII

Pursuant to the provisions of Presidential Decree No. 742, as amended, restructuring the regional groupings of provinces in the Mindanao, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi Area and creating two (2) sub-regional offices in Region IX and creating the 12th Regional Office, Regions IX, X and XI are hereby restructured as follows:

I. ORGANIZATION

- (1) Region IX shall be composed of the provinces of Basilan,
  Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur
  and the cities of Dipolog, Dapitan, Pagadian and Zamboanga,
  with headquarters at Jolo, Sulu. Region IX shall be
  divided into two (2) sub-regional offices to be known as
  Sub-Region IX-A and Sub-Region IX-B.
  - (a) Sub-Region IX-A shall be composed of the provinces of Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi, to be headed by an Assistant Regional Director, with headquarters at Jolo, Sulu.
  - (b) Sub-Region IX\_B shall be composed of the provinces of Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, and the cities of Dipolog, Dapitan, Pagadian and Zamboanga, to be headed by an Assistant Regional Director with headquarters at Zamboanga City.
- (2) Region X shall be composed of the provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental and Surigao del Norte and the cities of Butuan, Cagayan de Oro, Gingoog, Oroquieta, Ozamis, Surigao and Tangub, with headquarters at Cagayan de Oro City.
- (3) Region XI shall be composed of the provinces of Surigao del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur,

and South Cotabato and the cities of Davao and General Santos, with headquarters at Davao City.

(4) Region XII, as created under Presidential Decree No. 742, shall be composed of the provinces of Lanao del Norte,

Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan

Kudarat, and the cities of Cotabato, Iligan and Marawi,

with headquarters at Cotabato City.

## II. MANAGEMENT

- (1) The Regional Director for Region IX shall exercise general supervision over the engineering district and city offices within the region and exercise direct supervision over the sub-regional offices under it.
- (2) The Assistant Regional Directors for the two sub-regional offices shall exercise direct supervision over the work and functions of the different district and city offices under them and shall be responsible to the Regional Director for the effective implementation of all work programs within their area of supervision.
- (3) The functions and responsibilities of the Regional Directors of Regions X, XI and XII are embodied in Administrative Order No. 2, Series of 1974.

## III. PERSONNEL AND PROPERTY

(1) The present personnel force of Region IX, as per approved Staffing Pattern for the region, shall be apportioned between the two sub-regional offices based on the corresponding workload of each sub-regional office.

The Regional Director shall retain in the regional staff
the Design Division, the Administrative Division and the
Finance Division only. All the other staff offices will
be distributed to the two sub-regional offices.

Each sub-regional office shall have a Construction Division, a Maintenance Division, a Materials Testing Division, an Administrative Section and a Finance Section.

(b) The office supplies, equipment and furniture of the region shall be apportioned between the Office of the Regional Director and the two sub-regional offices based on the needs and requirements of each office.

## IV. DELEGATED AUTHORITY

The powers delegated by the Secretary to Regional Directors in accordance with Department Order No. 20, as amended, shall continue to be exercised by all Regional Directors.

This order shall take effect immediately.

Secretary