3 evacuation centers completed in Soccsksargen; 5 underway

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

The Department of Public Works Highways (DPWH) has completed the construction of hazard‐adaptive and needs‐sensitive evacuation centers in the three (3) provinces of Region 12.

DPWH Regional Director Basir M. Ibrahim reported to DPWH Secretary Mark A. Villar that the new evacuation centers were recently built in Barangay Bunao, Tupi, South Cotabato; Barangay Buayan, General Santos City; and Barangay Rosal Street, Carmen, North Cotabato.

“In an effort to provide safe and efficient shelter in times of typhoons and other calamities, we are building disaster-resilient evacuation centers complete with necessary facilities in strategic areas of Soccsksargen. So far, we have completed three (3) and five (5) are under construction,” said Director Ibrahim.

The five (5) on-going evacuation center projects in Region 12 are located in Isulan, Sultan Kudarat; Kiamba, Sarangani; Cotabato City, Maguindanao; Lebak, Sultan Kudarat; and Tulunan, North Cotabato.

According to Director Ibrahim, each evacuation center is built in an area not less than 2,610 square meters to provide enough space and facilities receptive to the needs of up to 400 people displaced by disasters.

Each center includes a well-lit and sufficiently ventilated accomodation building; an office and infirmary building; separate toilet and bathrooms for male and female; laundry and drying area; water tank building; generator room, pump room; garbage disposal area; parking area and assembly area.